Dawgs honored on All-District team


By: Wayne Craig/ Bulletin Sports


With China Spring’s exit from the state playoffs last week, just one game short of the championship, the 2016 13-4A All District list was released. Burnet captured 13 spots on the list including four on first team, five on second team, and four listed as honorable mention.

All the superlative awards went to players from either China Spring or La Vega, including the overall District MVP which was claimed by the Cougar’s Cutter Haigood, a senior member of the team.

Offensive MVP was earned by La Vega junior Jamal Williams, while the defensive MVP award went to Kody Fulp of China Spring.

Two sophomores from La Vega split the newcomer award, John Richards, offensively; and Donta Stuart, defensively.

The coach of the year award was also split between the two schools going to Mark Bell, China Spring; and Willie Williams, La Vega.

One first team quarterback was named to the list and that honor went to Bulldog senior QB Koby Edwards.

Burnet captured two of four spots on the first team wide receiver list with senior Steven Gallardo and junior Sterling Galban.

Also earning honors on the first team list was senior Drew Kiser, who claimed one of two spots in the inside receiver category.

Burnet placed four seniors and one junior on the second team list. Carlos Herrera was named second team offensive tackle, and Preston Reeves was selected as a second team full back.

Austin Davis and Seth Carpenter were both selected as second team defensive lineman, while Kyle Cavender was honored with a second team cornerback spot.

Honorable mention selections went to Burnet players, Jemal Alexander, senior, offensive guard; Tyler Ford, senior, utility player; Coleman Posey, senior, linebacker; and Tyler Torres, junior, kicker/punter.

The Bulldogs finished the 2016 season with a 7-4 overall record, 2-3 in district.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet