Big District 19-4A awards fro Bulldogs

Drew Kiser, Senior, Overall District 19-4A MVP


Caelin Graves, Senior, Offensive MVP


Kyle Cavender, Senior, First Team


Ryan Robertson, Senior, First Team


Blaine Burkhalter, Freshman, Second Team


Carlos Herrera, Senior, Honorable Mention



By Wayne Craig

Bulletin Sports

At the conclusion of the playoffs for teams out of District 19-4A the 2016-17 All-District basketball team was announced. Burnet earned two of the superlative spots with BHS senior Drew Kiser being named the overall District MVP, while fellow teammate and senior Caelin Graves was honored with the Offensive MVP selection. Lampasas’ Daniel Hurst was named the district’s Defensive MVP, while the New Comer award went to Andre Jones, a junior out of Taylor. First team selections were divided between Lampasas with three, Burnet, two; Liberty Hill, two; and Taylor, one. For the Bulldogs seniors Kyle Cavender and Ryan Robertson earned First Team selections. In his first year freshman Blaine Burkhalter made a district impression and was selected to the Second Team list. He was Burnet’s only player named to second team. Liberty Hill claimed the highest second team number with three, followed by Leander Glenn, two; Lampasas, one; Salado, one; and Llano, one. Burnet senior Carlos Herrera was named to the list in the Honorable Mention category. The Bulldogs will graduate eight seniors in 2017 and have four returning lettermen for next year’s squad.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)