Seventeen groups earn accolades

Burnet senior Caelin Graves smiles as he accepts the MVP field event award from track coach Jerod Rye. Several BHS student athletes were honored during the Tuesday night program for their hard work during the 2016-17 sports season.


By Wayne Craig
Bulletin Sports

Burnet’s Annual Sports Awards program was held last Tuesday night in the auditorium at BHS. Coaches for 17 different groups took to the stage to honor their athlete’s work for the 2016-17 school year. The program began with Burnet Athletic Director Kurt Jones addressing the crowd giving thanks to all those who helped make it another successful year for Burnet sports.
The booster club honored Rhonda Posey for seven-years of service and Danisa Scott for four-years of service, and the entire booster club program was praised for putting more than $40,000 into BHS sports over the course of the year.
Individual honors were passed out by group.
The following is a list of those honorees:
Kelsey Westen, trainer of the year; Trey White, rookie of the year; and Momina Khawaja, academic achievement award.
Malory Alvarez, Ashley Hogan, and Avri Steiler, special award.
Lexey Parker, MVP; Alex Barry, coaches award; and Jayci Craig, fighting heart.
Drew Kiser, team MVP; Koby Edwards and Steven Gallardo, co-offensive MVPs; Kyle Cavender, defensive MVP; Tyler Ford, offensive back award; Sterling Galban, wide receiver award; Austin Davis, defensive line award; Carlos Herrera, offensive line award; Tyler Torres, special team award; Michael Lindley, defensive back award; Coleman Posey, linebacker award; and Preston Reeves, fighting heart.
Cross Country-
Trynadee Greenwell, TAB award; and Jordin Belmarez, TAB award. (tenacity, attitude, balance.)
Girls Basketball-
Marissa Escamilla, MVP; Emma Lewis, offensive MVP; Reagan Giesenschlag, defensive MVP; Izzy Ramon, fighting heart.
Boys Basketball- Drew Kiser, team MVP; Kyle Cavender, defensive MVP; Caelin Graves, offensive MVP; and Ryan Robertson, fighting heart.
Ty Riley- boys MVP; Avery McCrory, girls MVP; and Camille Holmes, fighting heart.
Girls Soccer-
Madelinne Deitrick, MVP; Lexey Parker, defensive MVP; Kinley Beyer, offensive MVP; and Kellie Gideon, fighting heart.
Boys Soccer-
Tyler Torres, offensive MVP; Cotton Woodum, defensive MVP; and Austin Davis, fighting heart.
Jayci Craig, MVP lightweight lifter; Brailey Hall, MVP heavyweight lifter; Ryan Jackson, MVP lightweight lifter; Roger Craig, MVP heavyweight lifter; Alex Barry, fighting heart; and Colby Rogers, fighting heart.
Alfredo Lopez, MVP; Andrue Gonzalez, new comer.
Caitlynne Graves, MVP; Jess Luther, co- MVP; Colton Parker, co-MVP; Malory Alvarez, fighting heart; Tayden Qualls, fighting heart.
Girls Track-
Marissa Escamilla, MVP; Kinley Beyer, best field event; Trynadee Greenwell, best distance; Macy Hollowell, best sprinter; Dream Romero, fighting heart; Tanya Laurenti, fighting heart.
Boys Track-
Ian Carter, MVP; Tanner Abbott, best distance; Trey Grant, new comer of the year; Tyler Torres, best middle distance; Sterling Galban, best sprinter; and Caelin Graves, best field event.
Alex Barry, MVP and big Dawg; Kaygen Floyd, defensive MVP; Natalie Frank, offensive MVP; and Samantha Robison, big Dawg.
Steven Gallardo, MVP; Ryan Warwick, co-offensive MVP; Koby Edwards, co-offensive MVP; Dylan King, co-defensive MVP; Reid Dalrymple, co-defensive MVP; Tyler Ford, fighting heart; Rowdy Holmes, fighting heart; Coleman Posey, fighting heart.
Cliff Vandeventer Scholarship Award-
Reagan Giesenschlag and Drew Kiser.
Ed Abernathy Scholarship-
Madelinne Deitrick and Kyle Cavender.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet