Dawgs land four on all-district

Article Image Alt Text

Top L: Ryan Warwick            Top R: Reid Dalrymple

Bottom L: Koby Edwards      Bottom R: Steven Gallardo

By Wayne Craig
Bulletin Sports

The 19-4A Baseball All District list was released this week and four Burnet athletes were honored with selections.
Senior standout Steven Gallardo, who just this week signed to play college baseball, earned Burnet’s only first team spot. He was named first team utility player.
Seniors Ryan Warwick and Koby Edwards were named to the second team list, Edwards second team third base, and Warwick second team outfield.
Burnet junior, Reid Dalrymple, joined Warwick on the second team outfield list.
The superlative spots in the district were shared by Liberty Hill, Salado, and Taylor.
Salado sophomore Tate Harvey was named the 2017 Newcomer of the year.
The overall District MVP award went to Liberty Hill sophomore Chandler Freeman.
The 19-4A Offensive MVP award was earned by junior Jacob Wilk of Salado.
Senior, Connor Thompson, of Liberty Hill and Junior, Joel Cruz, of Taylor shared the Defensive MVP award.
The district named four first team pitchers including Drew Dobbins, junior, Salado; Levi Geagley, senior, Lampasas; Drew Baker, senior, Llano; and Christian Larson, senior, Taylor.
Other first team selections were awarded to Kory Schmidt, sophomore, Liberty Hill, catcher; Nathan Flake, senior, Liberty Hill, first base; Damian Natividad, senior, Liberty Hill, second base; Nick Martinez, senior, Taylor, shortstop; and Wyatt Cheney, sophomore, Liberty Hill, third base.
First team outfielders included Turner Gryseels, senior, Liberty Hill; Garrett Wright, senior, Liberty Hill; Carson Garza, Sophomore, Leander Glenn; Braden Terry, junior, Lampasas; Harrison Gillespie, senior, Lampasas; Ryan Oakes, junior, Salado; and Miguel Torres, junior, Taylor.
First team utility player went to Steven Gallardo, senior, Burnet; and Santos Vega, senior, Lampasas was named the district’s first team designated hitter.
The district named three second team pitchers including Blake Dillard, senior, Llano; Brayden Allen, senior, Lampasas; and Jacob McCaleb, senior, Liberty Hill.
Second team catchers included Cullen McKinney, senior, Salado; Lane Travis, junior, Llano; and Easton Canales, junior, Taylor.
Others receiving second team accolades included Jaden Napolez, senior, Llano, first base; Garrett Witcher, senior, Lampasas, first base; Cole Harms, sophomore, Taylor, first base; Hunter Gholson, junior, Lampasas, second base; Kade Maedgen, junior, Salado, second base; Daniel Vasquez, sophomore, Leander Glenn, shortstop; Mateo Maldonado, senior, Lampasas, third base; and Koby Edwards, senior, Burnet, third base.
Second team outfielders included Ryan Ray, senior, Liberty Hill; Gabe Jewett, junior, Taylor; Ryan Gardner, junior, Taylor; Gage Berry, junior, Lampasas; Reid Dalrymple, junior, Burnet; Ryan Warwick, senior, Burnet; and Rhett Weaver, senior, Llano.
The second team utility play award went to Justin Lowe, freshman, Llano.
The All-District 19-4A softball selections will be released as soon as Liberty Hill finishes their playoff appearance.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet