Burnet County GOP sees two primary races

By Lew K. Cohn

Managing Editor

Burnet Bulletin

Two positions on the March 6 Burnet County Republican Primary ballot will be contested, County Chairman Donna Holland Wilcox announced Monday after the candidate filing period ended.

There was no word yet Tuesday morning on whether any Democratic candidates had filed for Burnet County office, but prior to the weekend, there had been no such filings. If that remains the case, the March 6 primary will become a de facto election for county offices.

Three candidates filed for the Precinct 2 Commissioner position currently held by Russell Graeter, who announced he would not seek re-election. Filing to run as Republicans are, in alphabetical order, Damon Beierle, Ryan Rowney and Tom Stephens.

The other contested race is for the Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace spot currently held by Peggy Shell Simon, who also announced she would not seek re-election. Three candidates filed to run as Republicans for that position. In alphabetical order, they are Carey Headrick, Jane Marie Hurst and Jeff Sellers.

All other Republican candidates at the county level are running unopposed, including incumbent County Judge James Oakley, who is seeking his second term as the county's top executive; incumbent District Clerk Casie Walker; and incumbent County Clerk Janet Parker.

Other candidates running unopposed in the March 6 primary include:
* Precinct 4 County Commissioner — Joe Don Dockery (I)

* County Treasurer — Karrie Crownover (I)

* County Court at Law Judge — Linda Bayless (I)

* Precinct 4 Constable — Missy Bindseil (I)

* Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace — Roxanne Nelson (I)

* Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace — Lisa Whitehead (I)

* Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace — Debbie Bindseil (I)

* County Chairman — Donna Holland Wilcox (I)

* Precinct 1 Chair — Brandon Smith

* Precinct 19 Chair — Lenwood Nelson

All candidates are expected to attend the Candidate Mingle and Greet Thursday, Dec. 21, from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. The ballot draw will be held at that time to determine places on the ballot for the contested races.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet