Beierle, Hurst emerge victorious in Burnet County runoff




By Lew K. Cohn

Managing Editor

Burnet Bulletin

Damon Beierle and Jane Marie Hurst will take office in January after winning the Republican primary runoff for their respective races Tuesday night in final but unofficial results.

Beierle defeated Tom Stephens in the race for Precinct 2 Commissioner, 759-705, in a very close race to see who would succeed incumbent Precinct 2 Commissioner Russell Graeter, who chose not to seek re-election. Beierle was endorsed by Graeter while Stephens was endorsed by former Commissioner Carroll McCoy.

With no Democratic opponent on the ballot for the November general election, Beierle, a member of the Burnet Chamber of Commerce board of directors and owner of Double Eagle entertainment, will be sworn into office on Jan. 1 at the Burnet County Courthouse.

Meanwhile, Hurst defeated Jeff Sellers in a contentious race for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace, 316-255, after the two had advanced from the March primary. Hurst had the backing of incumbent Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace Peggy Shell Simon, who did not seek re-election.

Supporters of both candidates had taken to social media to engage in not only campaigning for their friends, but aggressively campaigning against their opponents as accusations flew against both candidates online in a race to win an office which is considered to be one of the closest to the electorate.

Hurst, a local real estate agent and former Marble Falls City Council member, will be sworn into office on Jan. 1 because there is not a Democratic opponent  on the ballot in November.

Llano County

In Llano County, former Llano County JP clerk Maureen Riggs emerged victorious in the race for Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace, defeating Bucky Boswell, 318-171. In the GOP primary. There is no Democratic opponent on the ballot, so Riggs will be sworn into office in January.

She will succeed incumbent Llano County Precinct 2 JP Linda Ballard, who did not seek re-election. Riggs has been working in the justice of the peace offices in Burnet County and will return to her home county as the newest officeholder.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet