Sheep & Goat Predator Management board election set


The Sheep and Goat Predator Management Board will mail ballots this week to elect three producers to represent sheep and goat raisers in its 111-county area. Ballots must be returned to the Board office by the midnight Aug. 5 deadline.

All sheep and goat raisers who reside in one of the three districts are eligible to vote in the upcoming election. The Texas Commodity Referendum Law, which governs the producer board, requires biennial elections. Ballots must bear the signature and address of the voter, and indicate production totals.

Sheep and goat producers nominated for the three open positions on the nine-member board are: District 1: Mike Jernigan; District 2: Johnny Mayo Jr.; and District 3: Carl Whitworth. These producers completed a nomination form with ten qualified sheep and/ or goat producers supporting their nomination, and returned the completed form by the July 6, 2020 deadline. They will each serve a six-year term.

Sheep and goat producers who would like to receive a ballot and have sheep and goat production and reside in one of the districts may obtain ballots at the local county extension offices, or through the Sheep and Goat Predator Management Board office at P.O. Box 3543, San Angelo, Texas 76902-3543, or by calling 325-659-8777.

Producers vote in the district in which they live, even if they have production in other districts.

District 1 is comprised of Brewster, Culberson, Crane, Crockett, Ector, Glasscock, Hudspeth, Irion, Jeff Davis, Loving, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Reagan, Reeves, Sterling, Sutton, Terrell, Upton, Val Verde, Ward and Winkler counties.

District 2 is comprised of Bandera, Edwards, Kerr, Kinney, Kimble, Mason, Medina, Menard, Real, Schleicher, Tom Green, Uvalde and Zavala counties.

District 3 is comprised of Andrews, Archer, Bailey, Baylor, Bell, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Coryell, Cottle, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Eastland, Erath, Fisher, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, Haskell, Hays, Hockley, Hood, Howard, Jack, Jones, Kendall, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lampasas, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, McCulloch, McLennan, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Motley, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Runnels, San Saba, Scurry, Shackelford, Somervell, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Travis, Williamson, Yoakum and Young counties.